Firearms Licensing, Hunting & Chemical Spray
Licensing Authority: James T. McIntyre, Chief of Police
Licensing Officer: Christopher Copan
Licensing Desk: Patricia Quinn at (781) 438-1215 x3140
Licensing Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
***IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR RENEWAL APPLICANTS***
Recent statutory changes have extended the 90-day grace period indefinitely so long as you begin the renewal process prior to the expiration of your current license. We strongly recommend all renewals schedule an appointment several months in advance of their current expiration date. If your license will expire prior to your appointment with us, you need to complete, sign and remit a renewal application to the licensing desk at the Stoneham Police Department. Once we receive your application, a receipt will be mailed to you. Please keep this receipt with your expired license at all times.
*Please note: You can fill out all forms below and print for dropoff*
Applying for License to Carry (Class A), FID (Class C) Restricted, or License to Possess a Machine Gun (Class E):
For all NEW or RENEWAL licenses you: (1) NEED TO COMPLETE THE BASIC FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE before applying (see resource link below); (2) complete the Request for Appointment Form and return it to the station to the attention of "Firearms Licensing Department” Click here. You will be contacted to schedule an appointment to come in. Please include your cell phone number to assist in reaching you. Many times the largest delay in the process is caused by the inability to reach applicants in a timely fashion; (3) Once your appointment is scheduled, complete the Application honestly and accurately and bring it and all required documents listed on the Request for Appointment Form with you on the day of your appointment Click here. During your appointment, your photograph and fingerprints will be taken and a final application will be uploaded into the state's MIRCS licensing system. The State Police and FBI will conduct a background and fingerprint record check; the DMH will conduct a mental health check; and the Stoneham Police Department will conduct a suitability and criminal records check. Based on the findings, applicants are either denied or approved and are formally notified of the outcome by mail.
Please note, at presently, processing time from the date of your appointment to receipt of your license or denial letter is no less than 3 months.
When Are Appointments Conducted?
Appointments are generally conducted bi-monthly on Tuesdays & Wednesdays from 1:00 PM to 7:00 PM and occasionally on Saturdays. We are currently booking at least 3 months out.
Change of Address Notification:
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140, sections 129B and 131 states "a cardholder shall notify the licensing authority that issued such firearms license, the chief of police into whose jurisdiction such cardholder moves, and the commissioner of the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services of any change of address within 30 days of its occurrence. Failure to notify any of these entities shall be cause for revocation or suspension of the license." You can download the official change of address notification form by clicking here.
Hunting & Fishing Information:
The agency that regulates hunting in Massachusetts is the Division of Fisheries & Wildlife. The Division headquarters is located at 251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 in Boston and may be reached by telephone at (617) 626-1590. General questions regarding hunting license, technical hunting information, wildlife management areas, etc. should be directed at the Division. Be advised, the state has now implemented an online system for hunting and fishing licenses, which can be accessed by clicking here.
The Massachusetts Environmental Police is the lead law enforcement agency relative to hunting and wild game and may be reached at (800) 632-8075. Emergencies or calls requiring immediate resolution should still be processed through the 911 system and a Stoneham police officer will respond.
Resources for Applicants & Licensees:
- To complete private transfers and gun registration online, click here.
- To retrieve your license PIN number, call (781) 438-1215 x3140.
- For a listing of Basic Safety Course Instructors, click here.
- To petition the Firearms Licensing Review Board to review misdemeanor charges affecting your suitability for an LTC, download and submit the required paperwork (read carefully), by clicking here.
Recommended Reading on Firearms & Chemical Spray Licensing:
- Accident Report
- Alarm Bylaw, Registration & Appeal Forms
- Annual Reports for Stoneham Police Department
- Anonymous Drug Tip TEXT Line **NEW**
- Anonymous General Tip TEXT Line **NEW**
- At Risk Program/Wandering Persons
- Car Seats
- Communications Division
- Detective Bureau
- Directions to Stoneham Police Department
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Information
- Firearms Licensing, Hunting & Chemical Spray
- Identity Theft
- Internet Safety for Children and Teens
- Massachusetts Most Wanted
- Press Releases
- Public Records
- Safety Officer
- School Resource Officer
- Sex Offender Registry
- Stoneham Police Slideshow
- Whats New at Stoneham Police....